How to tie an obi (butterfly style)

April 11, 2010 at 1:08 am 1 comment

May 19th, 2009

o today I learn how to tie obi/sash :) One of the girl in my “chado” class (chado=the way of tea) is very kind to teach me how to do this. I will tell you later about my chado class. I’ve been in this class since last month. I have learned a little bit about japanese tea ceremony.

And today, I wear my yukata again (yukata= a simple version of kimono).

Click! (I’m the one with the yellow obi).

I love her obi because it has 2 colors (red & yellow). So when you have 2 colours, you can play around with your obi, and do several variations. The lenght of her obi is about 3 meters.

And the yellow one, is my obi. It is actually a “ready-to-wear” obi, means I don’t have to fold the obi (to make a shape of ribbon). I only need to attach it to the sash. Just that simple! That’s way I’m not so good at this thing (obi folding).

So these are the steps. It’s not so difficult actually.

Entry filed under: FREE CRAFT TUTORIALS, Kimono. Tags: , , , , , , .

Quick & Simple: Collage Kimono Dolls Origami Windmill

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. thefrugalcrafter  |  April 19, 2010 at 8:47 pm

    Wow, Revi, you are amazing, I just read your entire blog! I am adding you to my blogroll and I sent a linkt to my friends at Orintal Stamp art. Boy, how many languges do you speak? I’m feeling like the “dumb American” right now LOL! I can’t wait to tackle a few of these, they are so fun, Mu daughters will enjoy making them too:) thei blog is a treasure trove of craft goodness!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Follow revidevi.wordpress.com on WordPress.com

Categories

Latest tweet


